McCalls 5817

Standard

Mccalls 5817

A little bit of sewing every day after work, and it’s done!  The skirt, as worn by Flora.

The fabric was very easy to work with.  It’s a cotton lycra shirting weight, from the Evil Fabric Queen’s Yahoo co-op.  There’s a little bit of stretch, which is enough to allow room for dessert.  The back has a double kick pleat, which contributes walking ease.  That makes wearing it quite comfortable.  This is quickly becoming my go to pencil skirt pattern.

I didn’t agonize over lining or underlining this one.  While the fabric is light, with the busyness of the print, and being awake when I select my undies, I shouldn’t have to worry about VPL*.  Awake is the operative word.

It’s rather odd though.  When I worked corporate, I never wore skirts.  Always, always, always in pants.  Even when I advanced beyond pulling cables and racking servers in the data center.  Lately, though, it’s been a slurry of skirts.  Go Figure!

*Visible Panty Line

3 responses »

    • It was a wrap dress in silk georgette with a silk crepe lining. You talked me into trying on, and I wore it until the seams shredded from over use.

Leave a Reply

