Trinkets from Vacation

Standard

If you’re a regular reader of these missives, you know Prince Charming and I went on vacation a week or so back.  We had the  good fortune to spend a whole week in Oregon.  The first part of the trip was bicycling the Willamette Valley, stopping at wineries along the way.  More on that later.  The last 2 days we stayed in Portland proper.

Of course, I took along my handy dandy, don’t-leave-home-without-it list of Portland Fabric Stores.  There were two must see spots on our side of the river:The Ribbonry and Button Emporium and Josephine’s Dry Goods

button_bag Prince Charming was such a champ.  He waited with me until the store opened (10:30, not 10:00 as I had read) then waited some more while I wandered about, my eyes glazing over from all there was to see.

In the end, I got a nicely varied selection of buttons to take home.  I didn’t have anything particular in mind, so was basically looking for the unusual, different and fun.  That, I found!

B_n_R_goodiesThe ones on the left are ceramic.  The teacup is  polymer clay, the black and teal blue are both Mother of Pearl, and I have no idea what the sewing accoutréments are.  I have my doubts that any of these will end up on clothing.  I think they are all destined for jewelry of one sort or another.  They’re just too pretty to put through the wash, or spend time hanging in a closet.

Next up was Josephine’s.  What can I say, but WOW! Gorgeous cashmere.  Italian cotton shirting that felt like silk.  Tweeds.  Plaids.  Sequined and embroidered laces.  A feast for both eye and hand.  I think I fondled every piece of fabric in that store, and left with:

Absolutely Nothing

That’s right, nada.  Zip.  Zilch. Zero.  What can I say?  I just don’t live a cashmere life.  Those who know me will think this may be the Evil Twin Suzy – leaving a fabric store empty handed, but there’s enough lovely yardage in the stash already.

Now, lest you think I completely took leave of my senses, I did bring home one piece.boersmaI found this in McMinnville, at Boersma’s Sewing Center.  I am an absolute sucker for this sort of fabric – fancy yarns, sparklies, the ombré colors.  It spoke to my inner magpie.

I know Portland has a lot of other fabric stores.  We were sans car on this trip, and very unused to public transportation.  That said, Portland has excellent public transport, and we found every place we wanted to go.  Besides, this trip wasn’t about stash expansion, it was all about decompression and relaxation!

2 responses »

  1. I love Portland and have been longing to go visit again. The fabric stores you visited are the ones I missed as I set sail for Washougal, WA and bought wool (I am a wool girl) at the Pendleton Mill located there. So between us we’ve hit the good ones, eh?

Leave a Reply

