New Look 6407: Finished!

Standard

It’s finally finished.  All the pattern adjustments are complete and I think I have a working pattern.  Whew!  I sewed the buttons on last night, and wore it out to visit with Prince Charming’s co-workers.

Since I was already in the throes of pattern alteration, I revamped the collar a la Louise Cutting.  This method cuts both the upper and under collar as one, swapping the collar side seams for a single seam in the middle of the under collar.  This also puts the under collar on the bias, with the upper collar still on grain.

I changed fabric for the facings, as you can see with both the sleeve photo and the collar band above.  I think this gives a nice design touch.  The body fabric has some lycra in it, and the facing does not.  I don’t know if this sort of stretch stabilization is really necessary.  I didn’t take that into account when changing the facings.  It’s just something I like to do.

While the back is a little wrinkly it really does fit much, much better than the original pattern.  Trust me!

I know some folks may be saying Why bother with all this fitting?  Why not just try another pattern? I must admit, I sang this chorus to myself several times.  Still, when all is said and done, I now have a nice shirt, and a basic pattern to compare other patterns to.  This should save some trials and tribulations further down the sewing road.

3 responses »

  1. YES, ANOTHER WINNER!!! I LOVE THE BLOG TOO. DOES THIS HAVE TO BE IRONED? I DON’T DO THAT ANY MORE AND JUST TAKE THE COTTONS OFF THE “LINE” AND FOLD THEM UP AND PUT IT ON TOP OF THE PILE WHICH SORT OF, PRESSES EVERYTHING.

Leave a Reply

