Kwik Sew: 3616

Standard

Flora models the last of the paint splatter knit which was used to make Kwik Sew 3616, a kimono-esque top.  This will be another nice one for summer.

There are 2 sleeve variations with this pattern.  I chose the sleeveless version.   Me being me, the short sleeves are so loose they would just end up dunking into my morning coffee.

Like most of the Kwik Sew patterns I have made, I traced and cut a medium, knowing full well I would have to take it in some to compensate for  my narrow front neckline and narrower upper ribcage.

What I didn’t anticipate was just how looowww the neckline was.  A wee bit too much for me, especially if I planned to wear it in public!  Leaning over was not an option.

So, I cut into the leftover scraps, and inserted a modesty panel.  Just a square of fabric to cover up the deep V, and stitched to the front and facing along the original line.  This print is so busy, you can’t even see the second line of stitching.

With the exception of the neckline facing and hem, the whole shirt was sewn on the serger.  It’s a quick, simple sew, suitable for an afternoon when you don’t want to think too much.

I even had some bright blue buttons in stash which work just perfectly.

Leave a Reply

