Holy Potholders!

Standard

Holy Potholders, Batman!

I used the Memorial weekend to wrap up the last of the Day of the Dead items my friend and I are making for the Sew-In Silent Auction.   This year’s theme is making something for any holiday you like, so we chose Dia de los Muertes.  It’s quite well know here in the southwest.  A time to pay homage to one’s ancestors.  Seems kind of fitting to work on it during the memorial weekend.

The potholders are done!  Ta da! I was surprised they took longer than expected, but I guess that happens when you end up making your own binding.  There are 2 layers of something called Insulbright sandwiched between the surface fabric, and the silver heat-repellent backing.  I hope that is enough to prevent someone from burning their fingers.  If not, well, I guess these could always be “display only” accoutrement.

Yes Virginia, I had to free motion quilt through all 4 layers to stick everything together.  Whew!  Can you tell I am not a quilter?

Two of the designs are just Day of the Dead fabric, while the other two are embroidered candy skulls from Urban Threads.  This is a larger version of the pincushions I wrote about here

Urban Threads is a funky site that sells machine and hand embroidery designs with a bit of a twist.  Think Goth meets Steampunk meshed with Calico Katie.

3 responses »

  1. Awesome! You, my dear, are a cross between a brainy-ack and a wild thing! LOL Urban Threads is YOU! (are you??)

  2. Uber cool! We are going to blow the silent auction off the table! Did I mention how worn out (from use) your last potholders have become? cough, cough, just saying.

Leave a Reply

