Naiad Cuff

Standard

I’ve been working on this on and off, mostly on, for the past couple of weeks, and it’s finally finished!  Woohoo!

The pattern is from the February / March 2010 issue of Beadwork one of the recent issues of Bead & Button magazine.  Now that I’m writing about it, of course, I can’t find the magazine.  It’s in the stacks, somewhere. I finally found the issue buried in the magazine stacks.  I made mine in shades of green and grey.

There are a number of different sized beads, 10° cylinder, 8° seed, 8° triangle as well as regular 11 delica or cylinder beads.  Those 11 delicas are some mighty small beads!  I knew there was a reason I usually don’t work with them.

The pattern is made with brick stitch, so except for first row, you’re just stitching through the thread of the previous row.  I won’t go into how to do brick stitch here, as there are many fine tutorials on the web.

Rather than using a clasp of some sort, this bracelet closes with a regular, albeit large, sewing snap.  I like that.  Makes it much easier to wear – no tiny levers to maneuver with my left hand.

A lot of the beaded things I make become gifts for various friends and family.  Sometimes this is the intention when I start, other times, when the piece is finished, it just suits them better, or they express an interest – often accompanied by signifcant amounts of drool and covetous staring.  This one I think I’ll keep for myself.

2 responses »

  1. I THINK THAT IS A WONDERFUL IDEA THAT YOU GET TO KEEP SOMETHING THAT YOU MADE!!!
    I spent all day trying to learn the upgrades of the school software for attendance and enrollment. My butt was really tired of sitting 7+- hrs. I got a lot of handouts tho. the clerical staff went back today so let’s see if I get any calls. Hugs to all…

Leave a Reply

