Passionate Pomegranate

Standard

This is a quilt I finished a while ago:  Passionate Pomegranate.  It’s based on the One Block Wonder books by Maxine Rosenthal.  It was my first attempt at something like this.  I was amazed that you could get this lovely kaleidoscope effect with just straight seams.  1001 design permutations, too!

The blocks are tracked as hexagons, but when you start to sew them, they’re done as strips.  Make sense?  Well, it helps to read the books or take a class at your local quilt store.  Once you do, the whole design principle becomes quite obvious and simple.

The blocks at left were quilted with stitch-in-the-ditch.  You can see how the design replicates to create the spirals.  It’s a great way to use some of the lovely large  prints available in quilting stores.

The whole thing was machine quilted with simple straight sewing.  It took a bit of doing to man (woman?) handle the whole thing through my sewing machine, but I managed.  The batting is bamboo, which seems to be a bit softer than the standard Warm & Natural.  I’ve read about both a wool and a silk batting which I’d like to try some day.  I bet the silk would be yummy!

The back of the quilt is also pretty colorful.  Claire approves! The fabric along the sides is a companion print to the main pomegranate fabric.  I put an uncut strip of the primary pomegranate print (say that three times fast) in the center as a reminder of what it looked like originally.  Quite a difference, don’t you think?

2 responses »

  1. Wow, what a difference! It looks so neat when it’s in Hexagon mode. (Oh boy – I’ve been around too many Transformers lately. Robot Mode and Car Mode have rubbed off on me!) Your quilts are really pretty!

Leave a Reply

