Otto Thunderpaws

Standard

Otto “Mr. Attitudinous” Thunderpaws

1994-2010

This morning we took Otto on his last trip to the vet.  He is now pain free.  Otto graced (some might say controlled) our lives for sixteen wonderful years.  He was always there to meow an opinion, knowing full well that all household decisions depended on his likes and dislikes.

Otto was a red head.  Red headed cats are different.  They have attitude, and Otto did, much more than such a small furry creature could contain.  Neither other cats, nor dogs, nor people 10 times his size fazed him.  He was red.  He was fluffy.  He was Otto.

There is an emptiness to the house, but we know he is now at peace.  He survived much longer than anyone, us, or the vet expected.  9 months with cancer – that’s a long time by the cat chronograph.  Farewell Otto.

8 responses »

  1. What a wonderful, self possessed picture of him with his paws crossed. he must have been a hoot to live with. I’m sorry for your loss but glad to know he’s out of pain now. Farewell, Otto!

  2. Thanks so very much for sharing your memories and love for your Otto with me, a person who has loved many pets and wishes for one someday. I’m always so glad to know that a pet was loved as you loved Otto. These wonderful beings only want to share their lives with us, and I wish it wasn’t so hard to keep a pet, here in L.A., because of arbitrary rental rules. Otto reminds me again of all the wonderful cats and dogs waiting for a home, and so many people like me who must go on wishing.

  3. I still hear you in my head Otto. Pet me! Feed me! Do something other than what you are doing and do it right now! Hop to it Human!

    Having a red head of my own I know the drill. Goodbye Otto. Be at peace and know that the world will not be quite the same without you.

  4. OTTO MAYBE PHYSIAL NOT THERE BUT HIS SPIRIT AND ALL THE OTHERS WILL ALWAYS BE THERE, LIKE MINNIE PEAKING FROM THE UPSTAIRS SLATS, THE DOGS RUSHING TO THE FRONT DOOR, THE SPIRITS ARE ALWAYS WITH US WHETHER 2 OR 4 FOOT. i KNOW my time is coming with Buttons and then . . . . Let me know when you get my pkg/card.
    Hugs
    Mom

Leave a Reply

