More Mats

Standard

Finally, some Day of the Dead accoutrements that are staying here!  These colorful beauties are now gracing our kitchen table, acquiring their fair share of drips and cat fur.  Aren’t they lovely? I. Like. Lots.

I am very pleased with how they turned out.  Similar to the other placemats, the center panel is quilted with metallic thread.  Three different colors of metallic thread.

Why three?  Because the thread kept breaking, and I got frustrated.  First up was an unknown variegated metallic, which actually looked good, but broke way too much.  Next, a Superior variegated metallic, that broke slightly less, but whose colors didn’t sparkle enough for me.  Have to channel that inner magpie! Lastly, a lavender metallic to finish things off.

I free-motion quilted around the large skulls and most of the figures, which adds  dimension to things.

In all, a simple project which was just what I needed after the rush and tumble of the holidays.  Two hold-overs from 2010 to finish, and I can start fresh on wildly wonderful new projects!  I can’t wait!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

