Gettin’ Ready

Standard

Sew-In 2011 is in less than 2 days!  As usual, I don’t feel nearly ready enough.  Will I want to work on this or that?  Will I have enough projects?   As you can tell from the photo above, indecision reigns supreme at Thunderpaws Threads!

So, what’s the Sew-In?  It’s a retreat sponsored by our local sewing chapter – we basically invade a local hotel, taking over both the hotel rooms and their conference center.  80 like-minded individuals with nothing to do but follow their sewing passion for 3 days.  We overnight at the hotel, which means there are no worries about driving home, or what to cook, since we are quite well fed by the hotel’s chef.  It’s something I look forward to all year.

Last night, I thought I was nearly ready.  I had to iron on some interfacing, and serge a few edges.  I’d be set.  Then, my serger went from it’s usual stealthy purr to making a glunk, glunk, glunk noise.  Time for service!  At the worst possible moment, or course!

Harrumph!  Harrumph!

 I am hoping I can get it to limp along and finish up 4 more edges, then take it into the shop for a tune-up.

As if this weren’t enough, driving home last night, the check-engine light comes on.  My car is now asking for an oil change too!  I’ll have to find a way to squeak that in after work.

Harrumph!  Harrumph!   Harrumph!
It never rains but it pours!

Leave a Reply

