Peyote Demo

Standard

I’ve been asked to give a demo on peyote stitch beadwork to my local sewing guild.  Beads at a Sewing Guild?  Yes indeedy!  The group I belong to will take anyone who does anything with a needle and thread.  We’re equal opportunity stitchers!

The photo at left shows some of the bits and bobs I’ve been working on.  None of them are expected to become completed jewelry, at least not as they now stand.  They’re just samples of the different types of peyote stitch – tubes, even round, odd round and a beaded bead in the middle.  That one was fun to play with!

As part of the demo, I also did a write-up.  A little bit on the history of the stitch.  Did you know peyote stitched beadwork has been found in Ancient Egypt?  I didn’t!

I think I have a sample of most of the different types of peyote stitching.  It wasn’t until I sat down to write that I realized just how versatile this stitch is.  Going through back issues of Beadwork and Bead & Button magazine, I realized that peyote is everywhere!  A real bulwark in the beaders repertoire.

A few more samples to the right.  The purple is an even count band zipped into a tube, and the green  odd-count tubular.  The blue beads are to show the spiral you get with odd-count tubular peyote.

One response »

Leave a Reply

