Freshwater Mermaid

Standard

I think a freshwater mermaid has lost her bracelet.

I really love this bracelet.  It feels slinky and soft to wear.  The daggers make a real statement: No Wallflowers Allowed.  It’s one of those creations which generates feelings of happiness and pride.

The pattern is from the August issue of Bead & Button magazine.  Believe it or not, it is all simple peyote stitch!

You do have to pay attention so the daggers stand upright and don’t get twisted around to the back, but otherwise there are no odd convoluted bits to the instructions.  Alas, it is not an inexpensive piece to make, as daggers, especially the large ones, are pricey.

This particular bracelet has alternating green stripes.  I see many upcoming permutations: smaller daggers in a pattern akin to a snake’s skin perhaps?  Color wheel variations?

The back of the bracelet is as nice as the front.  Now, why a freshwater mermaid?  Well, the green reminds me of scales.  When combined with a slightly silvered white as the base it just seemed like something you’d see at the bottom of a freshwater stream.  Maybe lost by a mermaid as she sunned herself on the adjacent boulders.

2 responses »

  1. WOOW, THAT IS REALLY BEAUTIFUL. IS THERE A REWARD FROM THE MERMAID WHO LOST IT??? COULD IT BE USED AS A WEAPON IF SOMEONE GETS TO CLOSE? i BET ONE DONE IN GRADUATION PURPLE WOULD BE NICE TO.
    HUGS

  2. Hello, my name is Minnie the Freshwater Mermaid and recently I was sunning myself on some lovely boulders and somehow managed to lose my favorite bracelet. If you see it please let me know. There is a small reward (fish) and my heartfelt thanks. I don’t feel quite complete without it.

    Yours,

    Minnie

Leave a Reply

