The Process

Standard

Someone a while back left a comment asking to see my tools, and know more about the process involved in making beaded jewelry.  This post is dedicated to them; I hope it answers their question.

The photo above is pretty typical.  I’ve finished the beaded sunflowers in the center of the mat, and now I’m auditioning other bits to go with them.  What isn’t captured in this photo are the boxes of beads scattered around on the floor behind me, some open, some closed, all holding potential.

The boxes are generically labeled (findings, focal, artisan) but mostly selections are done by memory.  I know I have something in an X color way, and maybe a Y size, so I dig around until I find it, then onto the mat it goes.  If it doesn’t fit, back in box.  This is repeated until I have enough pieces to work with.  That’s the stage of the above photo.

After that, it’s putting bits next to other bits (bits being a technical term, of course) and auditioning them.  Does it work?  Look different this direction or that.  Maybe flip it over, does the back work better than the front?  Eventually everything comes together, and I am comfortable with the plan.

Other times, I’ll get things strung, and realize it’s just not working.  That’s when the scissors come out, and everything is cut apart to try again.  If I reach this stage, the focal usually goes into a box to hibernate for a while, as I’m frustrated with myself and in need of a break.

Right now, this piece has either a sunflower or yellow cab theme happening.  Not sure yet where that is going.  For the truly observant, those are antique glass buttons as the center of the sunflowers.  I really want to incorporate that large oblong button, but haven’t yet figured out how.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Black-Eyed Susan Buttons « Thunderpaws Threads

Leave a Reply

