Loot

Standard

Max inspects the Tucson Loot

Last weekend my Aunt and I headed to Tucson for the Gem and Mineral show.  This takes place every year during the last week of January and the first week of February.  The convention center, as well as a myriad of hotels are taken over by importers of all things Mineral, Gem and Jeweled.  It is truly a sight to behold.

This was (I think) my 6th year attending?  Maybe 7th?  In any event, since we will be moving, I knew it would be my last visit for quite some time.  I stocked up as you can see from the dining table.

I had a list.  I checked it twice.  I didn’t worry about being naughty or nice.  I also didn’t snatch any beads from the hands of an indecisive shoppers – good behavior was the norm.  I was, however, accused of extreme enabling by my Aunt.  What can I say?  I have an eye for accents that look good on her artwork.  She is a Real Artist, whose pieces are in galleries and museums.

In particular, I was after dagger beads in various sizes, as the mermaid bracelets take quite a few (250 per bracelet on some of them), as well as size 6º and 8º Japanese seed beads.  Those you get by the kilo in Tucson, which make them much more economical than the 10 gram bags sold in the bead stores.

Clasps.  Cones.  Lovely colored wire.  Carved bone pendants.  Accent and focal beads.  Gifties for Prince Charming.  It was a very successful trip!

One response »

Leave a Reply

