Going Up

Standard

The foundation is laid, and the framing has started.  Pretty darn amazing!  And very fast!  I still can’t believe it.  This is the front of the house.  Over to the far left you can see the edge of my sewing studio.  The pop-out in the mid-left foreground is the guest bedroom.

Which leads to a question:  When does a room become a studio?

Is it size that denotes it?  The dedication or exuberance of the work performed there-in?  The amount of “stuff” (stuff being one of those technical terms) housed in the room?  I’ve always called the current dedicated space “my sewing room”, and felt thankful to even have a space of my own.  Somehow, that phrase no longer fits.  The new room is much larger and airier.  It feels more professional, even with the walls just started.

What say you?  Is there a difference?  Or am I just wrangled by wordplay?

5 responses »

  1. I think the title you give to your space can make a big impact on how you feel about it. If you called it your “Office” it wouldn’t have the same feeling as your “Sewing Room.” The same goes as if you call it your “Sewing Studio” or your “Craft Studio” or perhaps your “Padded Palace.” Although the term padded might imply some kind of straight jacket is required, but that can be accommodated right? Either way, I agree with Sylvia. This makes it REAL and it makes me a little sad 😦 but happy for you at the same time.

  2. It’s when you say, “….in this room I do creative things, things that I enjoy, whatever takes my fancy”. Then it’s a studio. May it bring you many years of joy!

Leave a Reply

