Sew-In 2012

Standard

Sew-In 2012 starts today!  Yippee!  Yahoo!  This is our annual guild retreat.  Three days of sewing nirvana, where we take over the local hotel and sew, sew, sew.  Whatever we like.  As much as we like.  Someone else does the cooking!

This is also likely to be my last Cactusville Sew-In.  While hopefully not forever, at least for the forseeable future.

So, what’s that in the photo?  Obviously not fabric, but something sewing related.  They are scissor fobs.  You hook the clasp over the handle of your scissors, so you can identify yours when you go to various events.  There’s even an antique sewing machine charm on the bottom.  I suppose they could have other uses too, but I like scissor fobs, so scissor fobs they are.

I’ve wanted to make some sort of favor for the Sew-In attendees for quite some time.  Finding the little sewing machine charms when I was at the Tucson Gem & Mineral show cinched it, as did this being my last visit.

I used a lot of the whimsical beads I’ve picked up over the years.  Ones acquired when I first started beading, and wasn’t sure what direction my personal beadventure would take.  There are cats, angel fish, pollywog fish and a few dogs too.  A little something for everyone.

They were a joy to make.  I hope they bring joy to their recipients.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks. I received a “dog” one and love it since I am a dog person. It’s too good to hand off my scissors so I need to find another use for it.

  2. Thank you so much…they are even more beautiful in person. I agree…it’s way too good for scissors!!
    You are are dear person Suzy! Hugs – Sylvia

Leave a Reply

