My Patterns are Packed

Standard

It’s time to sew.
I’m standin’ here, outside the door
I hate to buy new patterns, just for today

‘Cause I’m leavin’ for the Sew-In
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I’ve got to sew

Being the saga of what does a body do when attending Sew-In 2012, while having patterns and fabric packed, and removed from the house, no less?  Not attending was not an option.  After all, I had fobs to distribute!  People to see!  Something (anything!) to sew.

Fabric.com and Hotpatterns to the rescue. “Ah ha!” says me. They have free patterns to download.  And I’ve even made one of them before, so I won’t have to bother fitting!  Some days, I even amaze myself, I truly do.

Enter the Fringe Festival T.  Now the only question was, could I make this puppy on a straight-stitch-only machine?  No zig-zag.  No double needle opportunity.  Well, hey, since I wasn’t stretching myself in the pattern fitting department, may as well do so in the sewing department.

Worked like a charm!  If I do say so myself.  I got the two prints cut out before the Sew-In, and had enough time to cut out and sew the solid colors as well.  I even wore one of them home on Sunday.

The first two followed the pattern with V necklines.  The spotted green T is as defined by the pattern.  For the ziggurat shirt I widened the neckline 1/2 inch, which gives a modified boat neck.  Ok, a pointy boat neck, but trust me, it looks good.

After two shirts, I grew weary of making v-necks, so switched to scoop necks when I cut out the solid colors.  I do indeed like how this pattern fits.  The cap shoulders provide succor from the blasting A/C of Cactusville summers, while center seams front and back allow more fitting options than usual .

If you look closely, you can see that the necklines are different.  It’s much more evident when the shirts are worn.  So, four new tops.  Huzzah!

Shhh!  Don’t tell the sewing gods this, but I think I am finally over my fear of knits.

One response »

Leave a Reply

