Carnival

Standard

IMG_1557Bright lights.  A Ferris Wheel.  The Fun House.  Neon.  Barkers calling you to “Step Right Up“.

IMG_1560This necklace, with it’s riot of color reminds me of a carnival.  You cannot be sad while wearing it!  It’s for fun.  For laughter.

This is the first time in a long while I’ve ventured out on my own: no pattern, no adaptation of some design from a magazine.

This necklace was inspired by something that I saw the Martha Rogers character (played by Susan Sullivan) on Castle wear.  She’s the Mother, in case you hadn’t caught her name.  I think she may have had 2 minutes screen time on that episode…but the necklace!  Oh, that necklace.  I  couldn’t get it out of my mind.

So, instead of being haunted by the image, I made it come to life.  Something of substance!  I am very pleased with the result.

Specifics:  Magnesite (I think) and Turquoise rounds embellished with brick stitched seed beads of various sizes and colors.  The necklace straps are spiral beading, and yes, each side is meant to be different.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

