Shhhh…

Standard

BACFor the past several months, I’ve had a bit of a secret.

Not a HUGE, I’ve just won the lottery type of secret, but one that’s continued to surprise me.  It’s altered my thinking.  It’s made me wonder what journeys life has in store for the future.

So, what’s the secret?

My beadwork has been been accepted into the Brewery Arts Center Artisan Store in Carson City, Nevada.

Sorry about the shouting, but even now, I have to pinch myself to believe it!

Back in May, when I did the Johnson Lane Studio Tour, one of the artists I shared display space with suggested I submit to them.  You have to submit your work (photos and actual pieces) to a review board, who then decide if what you’re doing is professional or just noodling about.

Subjective?  Perhaps.  But the store carries quality work of many different types, and I can see that they would want to maintain that.  This is not a flea market, after all.

So, long story short.  I submitted, and was accepted.  The rules of the game are that each artist (and I still have a difficult time wrapping my brain around having artist apply to me!) has to work the shop at least one day a month.  Since I still have a day job, this means Saturdays for me.

The B.A.C. (as it’s fondly called) takes a percentage of each sale, which covers the upkeep of the store.  I have two shelves in a glass display case showing a mix of bracelets, pins and necklaces.  Some simple things, like Magma, and more complex pieces, like Whimsy. I will likely add/change pieces as the mood strikes.

And the Brewery part?  That’s what the building used to be.  It’s on the historic registry, even.  There’s a ballroom upstairs, and two venues where performances are held.  This is in addition to the store, which is on the ground level.  Pretty Amazing, isn’t it?

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

