Vogue: 8323

Standard

8323Another wool knit top to block these chilly days.  This time using Vogue 8323, which believe it or not, is still in print.  At least according to the Vogue web site.  The pattern has several variations.  This is the first time I’ve made the funnel neck.  What’s a funnel neck?  Basically a loose floppy turtleneck on steriods.  At least that’s my definition of it.

V8323The pattern pieces for this version defy belief.  The neck looks like it really will fit a giraffe, being oh, about 20+ inches long.  You’re supposed to fold it in half for the facing.  As you can see by the print on the inside, I opted not to do this.  The body fabric is a lovely soft wool knit from Fabric Mart Fabrics.  It feels very rich, however I was concerned that it would scratch so out came the ITY print.

8323bIn keeping with the theme of expanding my sewing horizons, I also put some slot seam embellishment (say that three times fast!) in the princess seams using the same knit as the facing.  There’s a touch of print as the sleeve hem too.

Me being me, I couldn’t use just a straight seam to sew it all together.  No.  I had to use  a decorative zigzag with variegated embroidery thread.  Not the strongest seam, but the fit isn’t so snug I need to worry about popping out any time soon.

I had forgotten how much I liked this pattern, so perhaps there will be a few more in the near future.  If I remember aright, the shawl collar works quite nicely too.

 

Leave a Reply

