Plum Wine

Standard

IMG_2485This necklace reminds me of deep dark plums.  Juicy and full of sugary goodness.  Maybe that’s because I’m hungry?  Or maybe it’s because I can see Spring budding forth outside the window, and I can’t wait for all the lovely fresh fruit to show up at the Farmer’s Market.  Heck, I can’t wait for the Farmer’s Market to start up, and that’s several months away yet.  I shall just have to bide my time with beading.

So, a little bit of square stitching.  Simple and to the point, and the name implies.  There are dark red drugs interspersed with tiny bronze seed beads.  Once the overall length was determined, I went back and embellished the necklace with some dagger drops.  The daggers are a color mix, some have a purple cast while others lean IMG_2486more towards bronze.  This adds a bit more visual interest, and breaks up what could otherwise have been a monotonous progression.  While this necklace may look a bit stiff, it is very fluid and pleasant wear.

Leave a Reply

