Meringue

Standard

IMG_2613Soft White Peaks

Meringue is another foray into working with new bead shapes. These are two-holed flat triangles.  Kinda nifty, if I do say so myself.  I am sure they’ll be making an appearance in a beading magazine near you very soon!

I actually started this bracelet working from a pattern, then determined it was just not going to be.  The pattern had something like 5 distinct thread paths, which seemed rather excessive for bead weaving, not to mention structurally unsound.  I mean, who wants to stitch each row as though it were a separate entity?

So, out came the scissors: Snip!  Snip!  I started all over again.  First was anchoring the triangles, so they didn’t spin from side to side, then the edges with the little bugle beads, then one more pass to install the crystals.  I think my version creates a much more substantial and wearable piece.

IMG_2609The triangles remind me of a whipped meringue

Leave a Reply

