Makin’ Moneta

Standard

IMG_3170This is Moneta, from Colette Patterns.  It is one of their first knit patterns, which was released earlier this year.  I know, it’s November, and here I am making a sleeveless dress.  Hey, I can always wear a cardigan with it, right?

Anyway, this is my muslin.  It’s even turned out to be a wearable muslin.  Amazing!

Colette Patterns are distributed in a lovely folder/envelope kind  of package.  The instructions are very good and straight forward.  There’s a spot to write notes in the back,  then the pattern tissue tucked into a sleeve.  Rather than cut the actual tissue, I traced my size onto different paper.

Now about sizing.  I thought about using the measurements on the envelope, then realized that since Moneta is supposed to fit like a t-shirt, I could use an existing t-shirt pattern and see how they matched.  So, that’s what I did.  It turned out that in the Colette world, I am a Medium at the shoulders and a Large at the waist.  Truth be told, the pattern does look like it’s drafted for an hourglass figure; being more columnar of girth, splitting sizes was the best thing to do.

Sewing is simple and easy.  All done on the serger, though if you don’t have a serger, the instructions cover sewing with a regular machine as well.

There’s even pockets!  What’s not to like?

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

