Ophelia

Standard

IMG_3573Is gorgeous, if I do say so myself.

I’ve wanted to make another beaded face brooch for ages.  It just took a while to match the face with the cabochon.  Ophelia is just over 2 inches tall, and about 1 1/2 inches wide.  Large enough to be seen, but not so large as to be bulky.

The face is carved something-or-other from Tucson.  I think it’s some sort of bone.  I know it’s not proscribed ivory.

The body cabochon is dichroic glass from Weir Glass Studios.  Andrea Weir does some of the most beautiful glass, don’t you think?

The dragonfly highlights of the cabochon are echoed by the bugle beads.  I used lime and kelly green, accented with silver seed beads and chartreuse AB crystals.

The bezel is a mix of matte charcoal 15°s and milky white 11°s.

Ophelia will give a nice pop of color to that little black sweater I wear all the time.

Leave a Reply

