Jalie 968: Basics

Standard

IMG_3665What can be better to sew than a basic pair of jeans?

Pretty much nothing, unless it’s a basic T-shirt.  Or basic something else.

And by basic, I mean a wardrobe staple that will get lots of use, using a Tried-And-True pattern that doesn’t require fitting, tweaking, muslins and the like.

That’s what this Jalie pattern (alas, now discontinued) has become for me.  It’s my go-to whenever I just want to sew, and not think too much.

There are notes scribbled all over the pattern envelope, and the actual pattern…  Let’s just say it’s been tweaked, taped and “adjusted” to account for it’s many years of use.

The fabric is (I think) from Fabric Mart or maybe it was Fabric.com.  Either way, it’s aged to perfection and long gone from inventory.  I would call it a mid-weight twill.  Not too heavy.  Not too light.  A real Goldilocks of a fabric.

IMG_3671I know, the front looks simple and plain.  It is.  The back, on the other hand, well, I couldn’t leave that unadorned, now could I?

Once again, Bobbi Bullard and her wonderful embroidery designs stepped front and center (or would that be back and center?) to provide the necessary bling.

The design set is called “Chain of Jewels”.  I would have put a link, but couldn’t find it on her web site.  I’ve had it for a while, so it may be discontinued.

I used a variegated Sulky thread for the lines, and a nice periwinkle for the jewels.  The rhinestuds are much closer in color to the periwinkle, they just don’t photograph that way.

These are sure to see a lot of wear once the weather cools down.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

