Hidden Treasures

Standard

IMG_3826Ever have one of those times when you need to do something just to take your mind off something else?  Well, this quilt is the result of one of those.  It was also a good reason to try some embroidery designs “just because” as well as use up stash.  We all have them, those cotton pieces toted around from place to place – too large to throw away, too small to be made into anything.

I got the idea from the Ebambo quilt I wrote about here.  That one turned out so well, I decided to tempt fate, and see if I could do it again.  The strips on this one are narrower, 2 1/2 inches instead of 3.  The embroidery designs are from a number of places – Urban Threads, BullarIMG_3833d Designs, Momo Dini and Kreations by Kara to name a few.  Other sources as well, though they slip my mind at the moment.

Very therapeutic sewing.  Row after row after row.   I did have to get a wee bit fussy to be sure that when I joined the rows I wasn’t going to cut through an embroidery design, but that really didn’t take a lot of effort.

I had originally thought to add something beyond the black border.  Then I realized it was large enough as-is.  Big enough to nap under, not really meant to cover a bed.

The back, as you can see, is a bunch of crop circles.  They get the Phred Paw of Approval!

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Secret Garden | Thunderpaws Threads

Leave a Reply

