Secret Garden

Standard

IMG_3817When one is good, two is better, don’t you think?

Actually, Secret Garden was parallel processing with Hidden Treasures (my geek is showing – parallel processing indeed!).  I made all the strips at the same time.  It was pleasantly mindless sewing, which I really needed at the time.

The original thought was to quilt them together, so both sides would be colorful.  Some ideas are best left by the wayside, as I realized trying to line up all those strips, and stitch-in-the-ditch from both sides would make me crazier than I already am.

The next thought was to cut the whole thing in half, and rotate the two pieces 90 degrees.  That would solve the issue of lining things up, but I would still have to be careful of the embroidered additions.  I certainly didn’t want to quilt though carrots or an owl.  Scratch that idea too.

In the end, they became two quilts.  I had enough wonder fabric* from the local ASG Holiday Gala to make the backs the same, so there was continuity with that as well.

I haven’t yet decided if this quilt is staying or gifting.  Mr. Puck would prefer it stay, even though he doesn’t sleep on quilts.

*Wonder Fabric:  When you look at fabric, and wonder…why did I every buy that?  Every holiday the local ASG has a party, where exchanging one’s “wonder” fabric is part of the festivities.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Kitty and the Quilt | Thunderpaws Threads

Leave a Reply

