Copper-nicus

Standard

IMG_3931I saw a picture of something like this on a web site.  Style.com?  Punk Style?  I don’t recall exactly where, but the proverbial light bulb went off, and I thought “I can do that!”  So I did.

Much as I like spike beads, I’ve found precious little to do with them.  Their hole placement doesn’t lend them bead embroidery; it’s too far up from the flat base.  Trying to bezel them (a la rivoli) doesn’t produce a solid piece – the bezel wobbles around.  At least when I did it.

So, they sat.  And sat.  And sat.  Until now.  Even better, stitching this up is pretty straightforward and simple, which really helps after a long day of work.  Not too taxing on the grey matter.  Spikes, crystals and seed beads.  What’s not to like?

Finishing the necklace with chain was a bit of an afterthought.  Or maybe better, a lazy thought.  None of my standard rope/necklace beading techniques seemed appropriate for the strap.  Enter chain, which I rarely use.  In this case though, it was just the thing.

So, what do you think?  Easy.  Edgy.  Just a little bit wild.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Railroad Spikes | Thunderpaws Threads

Leave a Reply

