Battitude

Standard

img_4197Halloween and Day of the Dead are right around the corner.  Every year about this time, I get the desire, nay compulsion, to make something to celebrate.

This year, I’ve used a wonderful scrimshaw bat button (say that three times fast!) as a focal.  The bat is hand carved with a bit of battitude, don’t you think?

When I purchased the button several years ago at the Bead & Button show, the vendor  told me the woman who carved them had passed away.  So there wouldn’t be any more, and I was basically getting “a good deal”.  I suppose the button has gone up in value over time, though I’ve not done any research to substantiate this.img_4198

I had originally thought to make this into a brooch, but didn’t want to mar the back gluing on a pin finding.  Instead I kept the button intact by creating a peyote bezel around it.  No removing the shank on the back for this beader!

The poor little fellow looked a bit forlorn with only the bezel, so sparkly beaded fringe was added.  Last but not least, a way to wear it.  So a necklace strap was joined to the bezel.

Various gunmetal, purple, lavendar, grey (you get the idea) beads were auditioned until I was happy with the outcome.  It’s amazing how many shades of purple there are!  A little chain making (purple jump rings), a lobster clasp and a sugar skull dangle finished everything off.img_4194

One response »

Leave a Reply

