Style Arc: Avery

Standard

img_4323I’ve finally discovered a style and size in leggings that I like to wear.  Not too tight, not too short.  A veritable Goldilocks size, if you will.  Of course, that meant I had to make some longer tops to go with them.

Enter the recent Style Arc sale at Amazon, and as fruits of that sale, their Avery pattern.  It’s a great mash-up of knit on top and woven on the bottom.  That makes fitting the bust and shoulder area much easier.  The lower part is woven, and meant to waft gently about the torso.  Again, not much to fit.

I used the last of a Nicole Miller knit on top, and some lovely sand-washed rayon on the bottom.  Do you know what the problem is with sand-washed rayon?  It is an absolute cat fur magnet!  And in our household, it’s always the feline who is oppositely colored to what you’re wearing that wants to be held.  We should buy stock in lint rollers, I’m tellin’ ya.

Avery comes with the option of putting an exposed zipper in the back.  Since I used a knit, there was no reason to.  There are also supposed to be wide hem facings.  Again, I omitted these in favor of a baby hem at the bottom.

I did cut the hem facings out and try them, but I seem to always have issues.  They never go in smoothly, and when they’re stitched down per instructions, they stick out like duck tails fore and aft.  Obviously I’m doing something wrong (too much interfacing?  Not enough?), but will leave that to another rendition to solve.

Avery.  Leggings.  Boots.  Oh My!

Leave a Reply

