HotPatterns: Plain & Simple T

Standard

img_4404This top is an exercise in perseverance.

It’s my standard T pattern, the Hot Patterns Plain & Simple T, made with the boat neck option.

But that’s not how it started life.  Oh no!  It was supposed to be something quite different!  That being an asymmetrically hemmed tunic.

I mean, a tunic.  A long top. How hard could it be?  Well, as you can tell, more difficult that I expected.  I used the basic T pattern for the top, the widened the bottom, thinking that’s all I needed to do.  Nope!

This fabric is clingier, which meant that rather than skimming the lumps & bumps, it snugged tight, showing off everything we women of a certain age don’t want shown.

I put it aside.  Waited.  Waited.  Waited.  There was no way to add more width at the bottom.  The fabric was going to stretch how it stretched; couldn’t do anything about that.  In the end, I lopped off the length, took in the sides a bit more and now have a top.

I’m glad I kept at it.  It’s a nice t-shirt.  I still have tunics tinkering in the back of my mind.

Leave a Reply

